Skip to main content

Ownership considerations when creating SideDrawers

Written by Support

SideDrawer has tremendous flexibility on data ownership to accommodate a variety of business and compliance needs.

Ownership of a SideDrawer

You can assign an owner at the time of SideDrawer creation, or a current owner can grant Ownership later on.

At time of SideDrawer creation, you're asked to enter the Owner's email address.
To make yourself the Owner, just click on the user icon in the middle, and the system will auto-populate your own email address.

Should I be the Owner? Should I make my client the Owner?

From a workflow standpoint, there is no real difference between being the Owner of a SideDrawer and being an Editor-level Collaborator

Both roles can add or remove Collaborators, create or delete Records, and upload documents

So what's the difference?

An Owner can give away the SideDrawer by transferring Ownership to someone else, and they have the ability to delete the entire SideDrawer

The main difference is in how you present the SideDrawer to your client:

If you're giving your client the SideDrawer as their personal digital vault, an added value for working with you, then it makes sense to make them the Owner

If you're using SideDrawer as part of your own business environment, a space where you and your clients can work on documents together, then you probably want to be the Owner, and keep the client as a Collaborator

"I want to..."

Present my client with a digital vault that's theirs to manage

Make your client the Owner

Have secure digital vaults within my business environment, to share documents with my clients

Own the SideDrawer yourself, and invite your client as a Collaborator

Create a digital vault and populate it with documents, then give it to my client to manage

Own the SideDrawer during the initial creation steps, then transfer Ownership to your client once setup is completed

Offboard a client once our business relationship has ended

Transfer Ownership to your client during offboarding

If your engagement or relationship comes to an end, you can always transfer Ownership to the client, and they can decide what they want to do with the SideDrawer from there

SideDrawer Permissions: Owner vs. Editor

Owner

Editor

Add other Owners

Yes

No

Delete the SideDrawer

Yes

No

Add other Editors

Yes

Yes

Remove an Owner

No

No

Remove an Editor

Yes

Yes

Did this answer your question?